06.08.2010 0

3 Republican Senators are on the fence for EPA regulations

By Adam Bitely –

Three GOP Senators are on the fence for S.J. Res. 26, the resolution that was offered by Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) that would overturn the EPA’s carbon dioxide endangerment finding. The three GOP Senators are Scott Brown (R-MA), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), and Susan Collins (R-ME).

Joining the three GOP fence sitters are 14 Democrats. They are Jim Webb (VA), Mark Pryor (AR), Evan Bayh (IN), Kent Conrad (ND), Jay Rockefeller (WV), Claire McCaskill (MO), Tim Johnson (SD), Sherrod Brown (OH), John Tester (MT), Robert Byrd (WV), Arlen Specter (PA), Max Baucus (MT), and Mark Begich (AK).

Before the BP oil spill, the environmental movement was widely wounded after information surfaced that disproved many of their theories. Now, Obama is changing the discussion away from his disastrous response to the oil spill by trying to push bad regulations that will only result in harming energy development.

The resolution offered by Murkowski will stop the EPA dead in its tracks due to the Congressional Review Act. Because it is a privileged resolution, only 51 votes are needed to stop the EPA. This will be an extremely close vote.

Copyright © 2008-2022 Americans for Limited Government