06.10.2010 1

Robert Chatigny Nomination in Senate Judiciary Committee Meeting Today

By Adam Bitely –

The Senate Judiciary Committee will discuss the nomination of Robert Chatigny today in their Executive Business Meeting. As you may recall, Chatigny is an extreme Obama nomination. Just watch this video to see why:

As my fellow blogger here Rebekah Rast wrote back in May about Robret Chatigny:

Americans for Limited Government (ALG) appointments watch project looks into a few Barack Obama-appointed judicial nominees to see what kind of rulings America can expect 10, 20 or 30 years from now.

Robert Chatigny is an Obama nominee to the Second Circuit Court of Appeals – the next highest court behind the Supreme Court. In 1995, as a Federal Judge for the United States District Court for the District of Connecticut, Chatigny presided over the case of confessed serial killer Michael Ross (“roadside strangler”). After Ross instructed his lawyer to stop appealing his scheduled execution, Chatigny threatened to seek the disbarment of Ross’ attorney and forced him to claim that Ross was too incompetent to accept his death sentence. Ross killed eight women, raping seven of them (at least six of these victims were teenagers)—and Chatigny felt, “he should have never been convicted. Or if convicted, he never should have been sentenced to death because his sexual sadism, which… is clearly a mitigating factor,” he said at the time.

That only scrapes the surface. Chatigny once ruled a Connecticut “Megan’s Law,” which created the sex-offender registry, to be illegal. He also is known for doling out lighter sentences for sex crimes than the federal sentencing guidelines prescribe.

And now Obama has put this guy up for a promotion.

The members of the committee are:

  • Patrick Leahy (D-VT) – 202.224.4242
  • Herb Kohl (D-WI) – 202.224.5653
  • Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) – 202.224.3841
  • Russ Feingold (D-WI) – 202.224.5323
  • Arlen Specter (D-PA) – 202.224.4254
  • Chuck Schumer (D-NY) – 202.224.6542
  • Dick Durbin (D-IL) – 202.224.2152
  • Ben Cardin (D-MD) – 202.224.4524
  • Sheldon WHitehouse (D-RI) – 202.224.2921
  • Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) – 202.224.3244
  • Ted Kaufman (D-DE) – 202.224.5042
  • Al Franken (D-MN) – 202.224.5641
  • Jeff Sessions (R-AL) – 202.224.4124
  • Orin Hatch (R-UT) – 202.224.5251
  • Chuck Grassley (R-IA) – 202.224.3744
  • Jon Kyl (R-AZ) – 202.224.4521
  • Lindsey Graham (R-SC) – 202.224.5472
  • John Cornyn (R-TX) – 202.224.2934
  • Tom Coburn (R-OK) – 202.224.5754

Copyright © 2008-2022 Americans for Limited Government