05.09.2013 0

ALG praises eight Senate Republicans for boycotting ‘exploding car’ McCarthy committee confirmation vote

By Willie Deutsch

Americans for Limited Government General Counsel Nathan Mehrens today issued the following statement praising eight Republican members of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee, Senators David Vitter, James Inhofe, John Barrasso, Jeff Sessions, Mike Crapo, Roger Wicker, John Boozman, and Deb Fischer for boycotting a confirmation hearing on Obama nominee Gina McCarthy to head the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA):

“Gina McCarthy in her capacity at the EPA the Office of Air and Radiation approved the use of DuPont’s R1234yf air conditioning refrigerant in U.S. vehicles, ignoring a massive European recall by Daimler Benz when the product caught fire in testing scenarios.

“Supposedly, this new refrigerant would cut down on greenhouse gas emissions, but even if that were true, the cost should not be endangering the lives of American families. Serving a questionable, radical environmentalist agenda should never come before protecting the health and safety of American citizens, including our children.

“We urge these eight members not only to boycott committee confirmation votes on McCarthy, but to wage a full filibuster and ensure she is never confirmed. Further, Given Obama’s State of the Union threat to continue to pursue unilateral executive actions in lieu of climate change legislation — including regulating carbon dioxide and water as pollutants under the Clean Air and Water Acts — no nominee to the EPA should be confirmed until this rogue agency is reined in.”

Willie Deutsch is Editor-in-Chief for NetRightDaily.com, and Social Media Director for Americans for Limited Government. You can follow him on twitter @williedeutsch.

Copyright © 2008-2022 Americans for Limited Government