11.30.2010 2

Earmark Ban Defeated in Senate

Today has not been a good day in the U.S. Senate. This morning, the Senate voted to expand the nanny state further through food regulations. This afternoon, they voted down a ban on earmarks.

According to The Hill, 8 GOP voted against the ban:

Eight GOP senators voted to preserve earmark spending, including Thad Cochran (Miss.), Susan Collins (Maine), James Inhofe (Okla.), Dick Lugar (Ind.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and Richard Shelby (Ala.). Retiring Sen. George Voinovich (Ohio) and defeated Sen. Bob Bennett (Utah) also voted against it.

Two Democrats facing potentially tough reelection battles in 2012 also voted for the earmark moratorium: Sens. Claire McCaskill (Mo.) and Bill Nelson (Fla.)

Our government is still out of touch, folks.

Copyright © 2008-2024 Americans for Limited Government